Campus Life




The University of Pretoria held its annual SRC elections for 2014/2015 on 3 September. Candidates had started campaigning at the beginning of August and there was a wide range of nominees. On the ballot were students affiliated with AfriForum Youth, DASO, EFF, Tuks and SASCO, as well as independent nominees – overall, more student societies were represented than in previous years, which evidently made the idea of campaigning appealing to many Tuks students.

The early spring fever didn’t keep students from casting their votes either, and these students flocked to various voting stations on five of the University’s campuses. Ultimately the IEC oversaw a fair, successful election.

The IEC also implemented stricter procedures in this year’s vote. Only students with student cards were allowed to register their vote. Theodora Mailula, a second year International Relations student, complained that while an ID document was as legitimate as a student card, it was not allowed in the voting process. She felt that this had deprived her (and fellow students) from the right to vote because of not having a student card.

Election results were released on 4 September and twelve candidates were elected. Independent candidates won three seats; AFriforum won six seats and DASO, EFF Tuks and SASCO claimed one seat each.

The hype about the election results is slowing fading although posters of the election nominees have not yet been removed on campus. The inauguration of the new SRC will be held at the Spring Day event on 10September at Rag Farm between 11h00-12h00.

The following are candidates for the New SRC for 2014/2015

President: Mosibudi Rassie Rasethaba

Deputy President: Luvuyo Max Menziwa

Secretary: Adrian Eckard

Deputy Secretary: Liezyl Aylward

Treasurer: Marna de Jager

Day Students and External Campuses: Reitumetsi Ratlhogo

Facilities, Safety and Security: Sibahle Sgwane

Marketing, Media and Communications: Duke Tumelo Rasebopye

Postgraduate and International Students: Henrico Barnard

Societies: Michelle Kruger

Study Finance: Gerhardus Pretorius

Transformation and Student Success: Jhua-nine Wyrely-Birch